Melanie Spanswick enjoys writing music, often composing for friends and colleagues, as well as penning educational music for students. You can find out more about her publications, here.

Orchestral Music

A Cinematic Suite (2018)

A four-movement suite for chamber orchestra. Lasting approximately 15 minutes, this work features minimalism with chromatic twists and turns.

Chamber Music

Gratitude for Wind Sextet (2020)

A short piece written for the London Myriad Ensemble as part of their ‘remote recordings’ project for the lockdown period during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Vortex for Piano Quintet (2019)

A one-movement piece for two violins, viola, ‘cello and piano. This piece piece written for the Solomon Piano Quintet, and was performed in January 2020 at Toppan Hall in Tokyo, Japan.

Trance for Piano Trio (2019)

A one-movement work for piano, violin and ‘cello. First performed in July 2019, by the dedicatees, Warren Mailley-Smith, Harriet McKenzie, and Tim Lowe at St. James Church, Piccadilly, as part of the Piccadilly Chamber Music Series.

Instrumental Music

Chakra Suite for clarinet and piano (2020)

Written in July 2020, the Chakra Suite contains seven movements, one for each chakra, with each representing the character of the particular chakra; from the bright solidity of the Root Chakra, and the pulsating heart-beat of the Heart Chakra, through to the  frenetic ‘chatty’ quality of the Throat Chakra, and the finality and defiance of the Crown Chakra. I hope the music offers a brief snap-shot of this fascinating, ancient energy system.

Each movement is named after its Sanskrit title. The Suite is dedicated to clarinettist Nadia Barbosa and pianist Yuki Negishi, and you can hear them play each movement, complete with Nadia’s introduction to each piece, by clicking on the following playlist.

Piano Solo

Simply Driven: 5 Virtuoso Pieces  (2020)

Five advanced to virtuoso pieces, written for four female pianists; Aisa Ijiri, Yuki Negishi, Maiko Mori and Madalina Rusu. In this selection there are two etudes, two power ballades and a theme with a set of variations. Entitled Frenzy, Aisa, Sand, Silk & Love, Enigma, Chasm and Time, this volume was published by Schott Music in March 2020. Find out more, here.

No Words Necessary: 12 Pieces for intermediate level students (2018)

A collection of pieces for the intermediate player (aprroximately Grade 3 – 6). No Words Necessary has been published by Schott Music, and you can hear three works from this selection below. Find out more, here,

Piano Waves (2016)

A collection of five intermediate pieces (for students from Grade 4 – 6), which have been influenced by the sea. Find out more, here. Published by EVC Music in 2016.

Digressions (2015)

A further collection of intermediate pieces (for Grades 4 – 6). These pieces are heavily influenced by minimalism, and they were my first collection. Find out more, here. Published by EVC Music in 2015.

Piano Duets & Trios

A String of Pearls (2019)

A String of Pearls was published in July 2019. It’s a suite for piano duet which was originally composed for the Darina Piano Duo. Containing five short movements, each one depicting a different pearl. You can hear each movement played by pianists Samantha Ward and Maciej Raginia by clicking on the link below. Find out more, here.

Snapchats: duets & trios (2016/2019)

Snapchats duets & trios were originally published in 2016 as a volume of duets. They were re-published last year by 80 Days Publishing. The volume contains 23 little pieces: nineteen duets (4 hands at one keyboard) and four trios (6 hands at one keyboard). Intended for late beginner students to around Grade 4 level, they are very short and succinct, lasting from 8 – 16 bars. Find out more, here.